The beacon of community wellness.

Out of all the services we provide, not one is more important than the other, but it all works together to achieve our goal of bringing wellness to our communities.

For nearly 50 years, we have been eagerly serving the residents of Randolph County. We started in 1971 with establishing a sheltered workshop in Evansville, IL. We founded our sheltered workshop program to provide employment opportunities for adults with intellectual and developmental disabilities. But we couldn’t stop there! We saw a need for residential services in our community, so we answered the call and opened our first residential facility in Sparta for adults with a diagnosis of severe and persistent mental illness and our second in Chester to assist adults with developmental disabilities.

We then broadened our services to include mental health support and counseling for the residents of Randolph County, and later expanded those efforts into Washington County. Since then, we have continued bridging the gap between individual and resource by partnering with local schools and hospitals.

Service has always been at the core of who we are and what we do. It is our mission to promote positive, healthy changes for individuals and communities through engagement, education, treatment and recovery. Our team is committed to empowering individuals to pursue growth and wellness. We value integrity, empathy, respect, quality, teamwork and communication.


Licensing and Affiliations

  • Certified Medicaid Provider – Bureau of Accreditation, Licensure and Certification
  • Licensed Child Welfare Agency – Department of Children and Family Services
  • Licensed Substance Use Treatment and DUI Facility – Division of Substance Use Prevention and Recovery
  • Certified Community Day Services Provider – Division of Developmental Disabilities
  • Certified Community Integrated Living Arrangement – Division of Developmental Disabilities
  • Accreditation – Council on Accreditation

ComWell has achieved national accreditation through the Council on Accreditation (COA).

vision statement

The ComWell Vision

Committed to empowering individuals to pursue growth and wellness.
mission statement icon

The ComWell Mission

Promote positive, healthy changes for individuals and communities through engagement, education, treatment and recovery.

Board Of Directors

David Holder

Board President

Mr. Holder has a BS in accounting and a Master’s degree in Business Administration. He is a registered Certified Public Accountant in Illinois and Missouri. He is a member of the American Institute of Certified Public Accountants and the Illinois CPA Society. David is licensed by the Illinois and Missouri Departments of Professional Regulation. David has thirty years as a practicing Certified Public Accountant. He served as President of the Sparta Community School District #140 school board and currently serves as a Randolph County Commissioner. He is a participant in the Sparta Rotary Club. Mr. Holder has served on the HSC Board of Directors since June 19, 1991.

Jeff Luthy

Vice President

Mr. Luthy graduated SIU-C with a Bachelor’s degree majoring in Bio-medical electronics.  Jeff has served on the HSC Board since March 8, 1999.  Jeff is married to Angie Luthy and has two sons.  He is the owner of a local family farm and orchard that produces corn, beans, wheat, pumpkins and peaches.  He lives in the Baldwin/Evansville area.  Jeff is active in the Randolph County Farm Bureau and Randolph County zoning law committee.

Dr. Ryan Reiss


Dr. Reiss joined the ComWell board on March 14, 2022. Dr. Reiss was born and raised in Steeleville where he currently resides with his wife and two children. He is a graduate of SIUC and Logan College of Chiropractic with Bachelor degrees in Biological Sciences and Human Biology and a Doctorate in Chiropractic. He is the owner of Alliance Screening & Occupational Services in Marion and Southern Illinois Spine & Joint Center in Sparta where he has practiced Chiropractic since 2006.

Diane Schoenbeck

Ms. Schoenbeck has served on the board since January 26, 1998. She and her husband are in the agricultural business. Diane serves on the Red Bud School Board, Randolph County Farm Bureau Board, Randolph County Farm Bureau Women’s committee, Randolph County Health Department Board and represents the Red Bud community.

Gail Letcher

Mr. Letcher is a retired school teacher in the Red Bud School District. He is currently employed by Weir’s as a company driver. He has served on the board of directors since January 26, 2004. He represents the Red Bud community.

Danny Valleroy

Mr. Valleroy joined the board of directors May 8, 2023. He is a graduate of Chester High School and attended Southwestern Illinois College in Red Bud, IL. He currently resides with his wife, and children in Chester. He worked for the city of Chester for almost 10 years as the Superintendent of Water Distribution before becoming the Land Resource Management Director for Randolph County. Mr. Valleroy is currently Alderman of Ward 4 in Chester and is very active in the community. He helps coach kids’ football, basketball and baseball programs and is currently the 7th grade boys basketball coach at Chester Grade School. His passion for improving his hometown and desire to give back to the community is why he chooses to serve on the ComWell board.

Scott Rust

Mr. Rust joined the board May 8, 2023 after sharing his desire to be more involved with ComWell as a result of his passion for assisting others with unique needs based on his own personal life experiences. He was a special education teacher for 13 years and served as a school administrator for the last five of those years. His career path later changed when his family chose to operate multiple Dairy Queen businesses. The opportunity to own these restaurants allowed Mr. Rust to build his own unique needs program tailored to each person’s strengths which allows them to become productive members of our work community. Mr. Rust’s goal is to benefit as many individuals as possible by offering support and strengths based employment.

The ComWell Leadership Team

Shea Haury

Executive Director
Shea Haury

Kendra Kennedy

Director of Quality Assurance & Development
Kendra Kennedy

Position Vacancy

Director of Behavioral Health
Position Vacancy

Beth Nortin

Director of Personnel
Beth Nortin

Kimber Browne

Director of Finance
Kimber Browne

Amy Wunderlich

Director of Care Coordination
Amy Wunderlich

Sarah Ward

Director of Developmental Disabilities
Sarah Ward